Menu
F D E

Exhibition

Thierry Raboud

Écographies

Écographies

Musée valaisan des Bisses

20.04.24 – 22.09.24

“I am living in troubled times,” wrote Thierry Raboud in his anthology Crever l’écran. Yet he still practises his art “despite it all.” A poet, musician and keen observer of our broken world, he likes to blend sounds and senses – or, as he puts it, “to write by ear”. His multi-layered poems are both auditory and visual: he types them out on a typewriter, arranges them on long rolls of paper, and turns them into musical performances that combine elements of lyricism, noise music and jazz. Through their poetic power and urgency, they serve as calls to resistance and manifestos for a new collective vision of the world.
Raboud began working on Écographies during a residency at the Jan Michalski Foundation. It consists of a series of “ecological writings” that evoke various glacial landscapes through a blend of analogue and algorithmic codes. The series includes Martyrologe, a new interpretation of the list of Switzerland’s lost glaciers, and Feu la mer I et II, a diptych based on a typography art book published in 1982.

Thierry Raboud (b. 1987, Valais) studied literature, philosophy and musicology at the University of Lausanne and the University of Fribourg. He also studied guitar at the Lausanne Conservatory (HEMU). A journalist, musicologist and poet, he has received prizes from the Pierrette Micheloud Foundation and the Leenaards Foundation and is a winner of the Tirage Limité award. Since 2022, he has chaired the judging panel for the Swiss Literature Award, presented by the Federal Office of Culture. He currently lives in Corseaux.

Musée valaisan des Bisses. Thierry Raboud, On savait pas © Olivier Lovey

Menu
Contact Facebook Instagram

Subscribe to our newsletter to get the latest news delivered straight to your inbox!

Menu
F D E

Ausstellung

Thierry Raboud

Écographies

Écographies

Musée valaisan des Bisses

20.04.24 – 22.09.24

„Ich lebe in einer unsicheren Zeit“, merkt er in seinem Gedichtband Crever l’écran an. Und praktiziert eine „Kunst trotz allem“. Als Dichter und Musiker am Krankenbett unserer verdorbenen Welt verbindet Thierry Raboud gerne Klänge und Sinne. „Mit dem Ohr schreiben“. Seine klangvollen, aber auch visuellen Gedichte verwirklicht er, indem er sie auf einer Schreibmaschine tippt, sie auf langen Papierrollen ausbreitet und sie in musikalischen Performances präsentiert, die Lyrik, Bruitismus und Jazzrhythmen miteinander verbinden. Ihnen wohnen eine poetische Kraft sowie die Dringlichkeit eines Manifestes inne, das zu Widerstand und einer neuen kollektiven Vorstellung von der Welt aufruft.

Ecographies ist eine Folge von „ökologischen Grafiken“ rund um verschiedene Gletscherlandschaften, die eine analoge und algorithmische Verschlüsselung vermischen und während einer Künstlerresidenz in der Fondation Jan Michalski entstanden sind. Die Folge beinhaltet vor allem Martyrologe, eine bislang unveröffentlichte Schweizer Liste von verschwundenen Gletschern, und das Diptychon Feu de la mer I et II, das auf einem Buch zu typografischem Design aus dem Jahr 1982 basiert.

Der im Wallis geborene Thierry Raboud (*1987) hat an den Universitäten von Lausanne und Freibourg Literatur, Philosophie und Musikwissenschaft sowie an der Musikhochschule HEMU in Lausanne Gitarre studiert. Der Journalist, Musikwissenschaftler und Dichter ist mit dem Prix Pierrette Micheloud, dem Preis Tirage Limité sowie dem Preis der Fondation Leenaards ausgezeichnet worden. Seit 2022 ist er Präsident der Eidgenössischen Jury für Kultur des Bundesamtes für Kultur. Er lebt in Corseaux im Kanton Waadt.

Musée valaisan des Bisses. Thierry Raboud, On savait pas © Olivier Lovey

Menu
Kontakt Facebook Instagram

Abonnieren Sie unseren Newsletter !